Eklutna Valley Community Council June 9-18, 2021 Special meeting minutes

This special meeting was chaired by council president Rick Sinnott. It was called with the concurrence of the council officers and began at 11:52 p.m. on June 9. The meeting was convened to nominate and appoint a representative to the Chugiak-Eagle River Advisory Board (CERAB). This was the first electronic meeting of the EVCC.

There are several ways to hold an electronic meeting. Some members have expressed an unwillingness to use a platform like Zoom, so the only "live" methods for holding the meeting would have been by conference call or by establishing a time for a simultaneous email exchange. An electronic meeting can be conducted more methodically with email by opening the meeting and allowing members plenty of time to interact using the "reply all" option. This special meeting was for the sole purpose of appointing a representative to the CERAB; therefore, the slower email method was chosen because it was more inclusive.

After opening the meeting on June 9, Rick gave everyone until midnight on June 11 to nominate representatives and second those nominations. Two members were nominated – Bob Reagan and Lisa Sinnott – and both nominations were seconded. However, after thanking her supporters, Lisa declined. That left Bob as the only nominee. Enough members responded in this initial interaction to establish a quorum.

At midnight on June 11 Rick called the question. All those in favor of appointing Bob Reagan (and any opposed) had until midnight on June 18 to vote. Rick stipulated that he would count only eligible votes; e.g., by members who had attended at least one council meeting in the last year. However, he encouraged everyone who had participated in the electronic meeting to submit a "vote" for the purpose of documenting their attendance at this meeting for future voting eligibility.

At midnight on June 18 the voting was closed and Rick tallied the eligible votes. 25 members voted yea and nobody voted nay. Therefore, Bob is reappointed as our representative. An additional seven members registered their presence at the meeting by making or seconding a nomination or expressing a preference for Bob. Eligible voters included Rick and Lisa Sinnott, Helen and Tom Bohn, Margan Grover, Dan Thompson, Linda Hilton, Debbie and Steve Thon, Bob and Cindy McElroy, Mike and Gwyn Wiedmer, Randy Bangerter, Linda Hehl, Deb and Buff Rix, Brian and Debbie Slater, Monique Garbowicz, Greg McConnell, Erlinda Downing, Jim Riley, and Glen and Mary Keller. Other participants included Steve Remme, Charity Bangerter, Dave VanOrd, Bob Reagan, Richard Burton, and Skip and Tena Cheely.

This was a remarkable level of participation, given the unusual circumstances, the second highest attendance in the last decade. Rick will forward the council's unanimous approval for Bob's reappointment to the Anchorage Ombudsman and the CERAB.

At 12:01 a.m. on June 19, with no other business on the agenda, Rick asked if there was any objection to adjourning the meeting. Hearing no objections in the next 24 hours, the meeting was adjourned at midnight on the same day.